h1

For the Horde!

February 12, 2009

I am a Role Player at heart. In fact, I was an RP’er long before I knew there was even a name for such a thing. As a kid, every time I watched a movie I would create a character based on the story and spend the next few days going around the house in character.  I suppose that’s not unusual for a child. Although, I think I may have taken it a bit farther than most. My Mother used to complain that my whole personality would change for days at a time, depending on which character I was playing. It was especially bad when I was playing an Android or Vulcan.  I always assumed that I would someday grow out of this stage. The years passed, college came and went, I married and became a productive member of society, but still my passion for role playing remained undimmed.

A few years ago, my sister and her husband introduced me to the concept of paper and dice role playing games. I  had never heard of such a thing. Previously, my characters existed purely in my imagination. Now, I had the opportunity to share their stories with others and become involved in my friends stories as well. We started with Star Wars, but eventually moved to the World of Warcraft RPG. I created a character and wrote a detailed back story. That was my first time ever writing about one of my characters. It was an important step and started me on the path or writing that has become such an important part of my life in the years since.

Eventually, my friends moved away and our RPG group disbanded. By this time, my husband and I were playing the World of Warcraft MMORPG. I was already firmly entrenched on a PVE server before I learned that RP realms existed. While the concept  intrigued me,  I never pursued it.

Recently I came across an excellent RP blog entitled Through the Eyes of Death, by Arrens Caltrain. Reading his story and hearing about his experiences on an RP server stirred my imagination and rekindled the desire I have always had to experience the game in this way. I have long wanted to re-create my character from the WoW RPG game and continue her story in an RP world. Last night, she was reborn.

reant1

In a dramatic departure from my previous characters, I rolled a Forsaken Warrior.  I have never played Horde, or a warrior, but it fits my characters back story.  All in all, this will be very different from my prior WoW experience. Besides providing an outlet for my RP nature, it will also provide a welcome break from guild leadership and the PVE raiding world in which I spend the bulk of my time.

I had forgotten what it feels like to be a newbie; barely able to afford new trainings, ecstatic when a six slot bag drops, wearing garments that look like they were pulled out of a dumpster.  Roughing it is actually pretty fun.   One thing hasn’t changed. I still hate murlocs as much as ever.  After dying several times last night, I vowed to come back at level eighty and eat every last one.

For the Horde!

2 comments

  1. Wow! I’m glad I could inspire you to explore the RP world with the rest of us merry misfits. And Forsaken, to boot! I look forward to seeing your warrior’s stories!


  2. I would just like so say, the Undercity is the most confusing labyrinth I have ever attempted to nagivate. After wandering around lost for thirty minutes, I finally took to following high level characters in hopes one would unwittingly lead me to the exit.

    Furthermore, the Undercity looks like Naxx and I keep trying to attack the guards out of habit. It feels a bit strange, but I suppose that falls in nicely with my characters history as an Alliance fighter only very recently turned undead.

    Quite an interesting new world I’ve fallen into. I look forward to exploring it in the days ahead.



Leave a Reply

