h1

Seeing For the First Time

February 9, 2009

I wrote a couple of weeks ago about the computer issues I’ve been having and the unexpected gift from an on-line friend. The new computer arrived this week. It is an actual gaming computer, complete with a 24” flat screen monitor, and a Razor Tarantula gaming keyboard.

I have been playing WoW for three and a half years, but when I logged in for the first time with my new computer, it was like seeing the world for the first time. The beauty, the color, the intricate detail quite literally took my breath away.

I spent a good two hours just reveling in new discoveries.

  • As my dragon touched down in the Carrion Fields, I saw a dark shape following us.  I lept to the ground and prepared to defend myself  … from my shadow.  I’d never seen it before.  I had no idea I even had one! I laughed with delight and shouted for my husband to come see. 
  • The sun actually sparkles off the snow in Dragonsblight.  The light, so much more intense than ever before, actually made me wince.   I could see Aleathea’s frosty breath every time she exhaled.  It felt so real, I wanted to make snow angels.
  • Flying over Crystalsong Forest, I could see for the first time individual leaves on the crystal trees.  I hovered for many minutes, just enjoying the breathtaking view. 

I’ll admit, that night left me a bit misty eyed.  Silly, perhaps.  But beauty has always had that effect on me.  It’s as if the world I saw before was just a shadow of itself and now, suddenly, I could see it all in the clear light of day with all its beauty and detail.  It’s an experience I won’t soon forget. 

Last night, for the first time, I was able to join my guild for a full run of heroic Naxx. I was running at 40-60 fps the entire night with no latency issues whatsoever. Due to my huge screen, larger than any television I’ve ever owned, tanking is much easier.  As if all that weren’t enough, the new Razor gaming keyboard is an absolute dream come true. 

One of the additional benefits of my new computer is the fact that I can now work on my blog from home. My old computer would shut down every time I tried to access my blog, or my google reader, or my email, or pretty much anything. I could only post from work, which was a bit problematic at times. 

I am attempting to learn how to upload images from my digital camera to the web. Once I cross that technological hurdle, I’ll post some pictures.

My pleasure in this new computer is equalled only by the knowledge that my friend, someone I have never met outside of WoW, wanted to do this for me.   If there were ever a question in my own mind as to the reality of on-line friendship, it has been laid to rest.  My smile is just a little bit brighter these days.

Leave a Reply

