h1

Holiday Greetings

December 22, 2008

Hi everyone! I haven’t forgotten about my blog or lost interest. The truth is, it’s been pretty quiet in my neck of the woods and I just haven’t had a whole lot to write about. Today I decided that, despite the fact I have nothing too profound to say, I am long overdue for a general update – so here goes.

I’m about done with my non-raid gear list having acquired all the badge gear and all but one heroic drop. As a guild, we are working our way through 10 man Naxx, and have completed Obsidian Sanctum. Naxx is going more quickly than I anticipated and I have to say, I am really enjoying the instance. I never saw Naxx pre-Wrath, so this is a real treat. I found some fantastic raid boss videos at tankspot.com and highly recommend them to anyone learning these encounters.

After reaching level eighty, I spent a few weeks pugging while I waited for the rest of the guild to catch up. Pre-wrath I avoided contact with non-guildies. I have come to believe that was a mistake, and this time around I have enjoyed building a network of friendships with players from many guilds across the server. I have been pleasantly surprised to find so many talented, generous and truly likeable people and the friendships have proved mutually beneficial. All in all things are going better for myself and the guild as a whole than I could have anticipated.

During the weeks leading up to Wrath, I struggled quite a bit with the thought of going from five characters, down to only one. Much to my surprise, I have found that having only one character to focus on is actually a tremendous relief. I can spend a few hours working on my gear, doing my dailies, running instances – and then log out at the end of the day with a sense of completion. That is something I never felt before. I was constantly haunted by the voices of my other characters clamoring for attention and demanding my time. I feel as if I suddenly have so much more free time, and I am in a much better position to balance my in-game goals and real life goals heading into the new year.

The only trouble at present is the fact that having only one character limits who you can group with – I never get to run with my fellow tanks outside of a raid. The introduction of duel specs will eliminate this last remaining difficulty as I will be able to easily switch between a tanking and a dps role. Needless to say, it is a change I am eagerly awaiting.

In anticipation of duel specs, I have been working hard on my Ret set and researching the spec. In my three and a half years playing a paladin, I had actually never specced ret … ever. I took the plunge last Saturday. I enjoyed it for a full 45 minutes before a friend’s call sent me back to IF for a respect and an afternoon tanking heroics. I swear, one of these days I am going to flag DND and try Ret for a whole day. One of these days…

On a personal note, early this year my husband and I moved from hurricane plagued Florida back to my lovely hometown in Georgia. It is such a pleasure this year to enjoy the holiday season surrounded by childhood friends and my family. I sincerely hope that each of you are enjoying the season, and I wish you all a safe and very Merry Christmas.

~Aleathea~

Leave a Reply

