h1

Greetings from the Frozen North

November 21, 2008

I’m afraid I’ve been slacking of late.  I am having so much fun in game that real life things like going to the gym, pursuing my on-line course work, and writing on my blog have kinda fallen by the way side.  I decided it’s high time I get back on track!  Last night I went to the gym, tonight I will take my mid-term, and right now here comes an update on my goings on in the Frozen Northlands.  Good news! The Scourge hasn’t gotten me yet, and neither have the ravenous polar bears … although not from lack of trying.

Let me just say, I have been playing for almost four years and the quests in Dragonsblight are the best I have ever seen.  Romer and I found ourselves staying up hours later than we intended, just to see what would happen next.  For a lore buff like myself they are a dream come true.  You realy feel like you play a vital part in the events shaping the world around you and you get to interact with major lore figures.  

Aleathea is now seventy six and I expect to reach eighty early next week.  I have spent about thirty hours this week doing my research (work’s been slow, thank goodness) and I feel comfortable with where and how to obtain all the best rep, quest and crafted tanking items available.  Most of our core raiders are poised to reach eight next week (one overachiever has already made it) and I know they’re going to be itching to head into Naxx.  I’m working hard to make sure my gear won’t be holding us back. 

One of my favorite parts so far has been the new dungeons.  It’s been fun leading groups through dungeons none of us have seen before.  I study ahead, so I am always prepared for the boss fights, but I’ve taken to deliberately not reading about the trash.  It provides a little more “excitement” … I’ll just leave it at that.  The one thing I dislike about the dungeons is the number of spiders, bugs and snakes involved.  Those are the three things on earth that I am most frightned of.  Demons, Undead, Elementals don’t phase me … but spiders and bugs and snakes – oh my!  Yeah, my dreams of late have been interesting.

It is astonishing how quicky enchanting mats disappear when you start leveling your profession.  I’ve been DE’ing every green I come across, Romer’s been sending me all his, but at skill level 400 I’ve run out of mats.  The good thing is, he is an inscriptionist and has been making me armor and weapon velum.  I’ve been able to enchant those for skill points and then sell the enchants on AH.  We split the money and it’s been pretty lucrative for us both.  Much better than the old days of re-enchanting your own stuff over and over or hawking enchants on AH bridge.

Well, as much as I’d love to stay and chat…WoW calls!  I can only tear myself away for a few minutes at a time, you understand.  Hope you are all having as much fun as I am!

~Aleathea~

Leave a Reply

