h1

Echoes of Doom

October 14, 2008

My husband is ecstatic. My guild mates can talk of nothing else. My friends are counting the hours — nay the minutes — until the servers are back up and they can log in to play with the new stats, talents and class abilities. I smile. I nod. I /cheer. But the truth is, what I feel is not elation – what I feel is trepidation.

You see, I am not one of those people who is good at theorycrafting. Heck, I can barely understand most tooltips. I try. I really do. But after a few hours of study I get blurred vision, a splitting headache, and I am no closer to understanding how all the class abilities fit together than I was before.

The truth is, despite five level seventies and three years game experience, I am still just a noob.

The one strength I do possess is an insatiable desire to learn. Driven by my dificiencies, I have invested literally hundreds of hours researching the classes I play. My lack of intuitive understanding has led me to seek out teachers who I look to for guidance and instruction.

But Aleathea, you aren’t supposed to have anyone else tell you how to play your class. Forge your own way. Forget the guides and take pride in learning, experimenting, and accomplishing things on your own. Play with talent points and cast cycles and decide for yourself what works for you. Make your character your own and get your nose out of the EJ forums!

I know, I know. I feel a sense of shame that I am not one who can create but can only emulate. But I am driven by a deep desire to tap the full extent of my character’s potential. And the truth is, I just can’t do it on my own. I’ve tried. I really have. And I have come to the conclusion that minds much greater than mine have already done the theorycrafting, players far more accomplished than I have performed extensive in-game testing, writers with talent I can only dream of have produced guides, and I would be a fool not to heed them.

Which brings me to why I, alone among my friends, meet this day with hesitation.

It has taken literally hundreds of hours of reasearch to understand my talents, to optimize my cast cycles, to get truly comfortable with my class, my roll and the synergy between myself and my team mates. And now, it’s all changing. I am starting over. And not just with one character, but with all five. Quite frankly, it is overwhelming.

While in the midst of this melancholy mood, I came across Patch Day Blues by Big Bear Butt. His article reminded me that this same thing happened two years ago when the BC pre-patch was released. Eventually, I will become as comfortable with the new talents, spells and game mechanics as I am now with the old ones. In the end, everything will be all right.

I know he is right, but at the moment I feel a bit like a university student returning from summer break to face a new semester of classes. Wondering what changes the next few months will hold. Wondering how long it will take me to master the new concepts. Wondering if I can live up to my personal expectations and duplicate my past success.

***

I’ve been so engrossed in writing this post that I’ve let time get away from me. My co-workers have left already, I’m alone at the office. I know I should go home, but there is a part of me that still hesitates.

Why is it that we cling to what we know and stubbornly resist change – even when we know it is for the best?

Enough procrastination. I’m going home now to fire up the computer, log in to World of Warcraft, and face Echoes of Doom.

Leave a Reply

